LA Times, "Local campuses named national 'blue ribbon' schools"

Four Orange County schools and four in LA County are among 21 statewide named national “blue ribbon” schools by the U.S. Department of Education. Orange County’s are: Santa Ana elementary schools Muir and Thorpe, Emery in Buena Park and Allen in Fountain Valley. LA County’s are: Carson’s Math and Science Academy, Newhall’s McGrath Elementary and West Covina’s Merced Elementary, and LA’s  Gertz-Ressler High School. - HTN Foundation

Local campuses named national 'blue ribbon' schools

Howard Blume

September 15, 2011 | 11:50 am

Twenty-one California schools, including four in Los Angeles County and four in Orange County, have been named national "blue ribbon" schools by the U.S. Department of Education.

The L.A. County schools are the California Academy of Mathematics and Science in Carson, McGrath Elementary in Newhall, Gertz-Ressler High School in Los Angeles and Merced Elementary in West Covina.

The Academy of Math and Science is a magnet high school that serves high-achieving students from several nearby school systems. Gertz-Ressler is a charter high school run independently of the local school district by Alliance College-Ready Public Schools. It's located in the University Park neighborhood south of downtown.